Founded, Date/Place: 1847, Scotland (UK)

Foundresses: Adelaide Vaast And Veronica Cordier

Canonical Status: Pontifical

Motto: My God, My All

Charism: Simplicity, Poverty, Humility And Metanoia

Mission Statement: Following The Vision And Hope Of Our Foundresses, We Willingly Answer Christ’s Call To Respond To The Needs Of The Local Church Particularly In Its Pastoral Services To The Poor And The Needy

Purpose: To Educate Young Women In All Ramifications

Vocational Centers: Sewing, Catering Etc. Communication And Secretariat, Youth Apostolate, Art And Many Other Fields

Location Of Generalate: Scotland

Location Of Formation House(S): Inisa And Awe In Oyo

image of provincial superior

Provincial Superior: Rev. Sr. Mary Joan Chukwurah, OSF

Franciscan Provincialate, Chief B.A Gbadamosi Street,
First Unity Estate, Badore-Ajah, Lagos. MOBILE: +(234) 8184697201
EMAIL: Franciscannigprov@Gmail.Com
WEBSITE: Www.Fsic-Osfnig.Org
+(234) 802 887 2543
+(234) 8069214311
+(234) 7015551396
+(234) 8069092370
EMAIL: Osfvocations@Gmail.Com


The Franciscan Sisters of the Immaculate Conception is a religious institute with pontifical right founded in Glasgow, Scotland in 1847 by Sr. Adelaide Vaast and Sr. Veronica Cordier, who came from the Franciscan monastery of Our Lady of the Angel, Tourcoing, France, to care for and educate the children of Glasgow. Sister Veronica was left as the sole-foundress after Sister Adelaide’s premature death from cholera.

Over the years, the institute spread to England, the Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Italy, the Republic of Kenya, the United States of America, and Barbados. We live by the rule and life of the brothers and sisters of the Third-Order-Regular of St. Francis of Assisi. As sisters in the Franciscan penitential tradition, we commit ourselves to living out our profession of chastity, poverty, and obedience in community, ever striving for a fuller expression of our baptismal call to conversion.

IN LIGHT OF THE IMMACULATE CONCEPTION In 1854, Pope Pius IX approved our first constitution. It was, coincidentally, the same year as the proclamation of the Dogma of the Immaculate Conception of the Blessed Virgin Mary. Thus, at the request of Pope Pius IX, the Franciscan and Marian spiritualities were joined and lived according to the spirit of Saint Francis of Assisi. As a result, we honor the Blessed Virgin Mary as our special patroness, and we are known as Franciscan Sisters of the Immaculate Conception.

As Franciscans, the essence of our charism and spirituality lies in our commitment to a life of continuous conversion and renewal. Our main charisms are simplicity, joy, poverty, minority, fraternity, hospitality, contemplation, and metanoia.

Our Primary Apostolate is the witness we give through the apostolate of education, in the broadest, fullest sense of the term (Constitutions and Statutes, C4), particularly to the poor and the needy. In our approach to God’s people, hospitality will be a special mark of the service we offer.

The Nigerian mission of our institute was established in 1950 at the invitation of His Lordship, Most Rev. Owen McCoy, the then bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Oyo, Oyo State, Nigeria. He invited us to educate the young women of his diocese through the development of education in schools, vocational training, and training colleges. Four of our sisters came from Scotland to open our Nigerian foundation. Our first convent was opened in Isale-Aro, Osogbo, now Osun State. With the growing number of Nigerian indigenous sisters, the Africa Province, which includes the Republic of Kenya, was established in 1999 with its headquarters in Osogbo, Osun State, Nigeria. Due to a further increase in the number of indigenous Nigerian sisters, the Nigeria Province of our religious institute was created in 2010 with the headquarters in Lagos, Lagos State, Nigeria. Presently, we have our religious communities in eleven dioceses andarchdioceses in Nigeria. In these places, we work in schools and hospitals, taking care of orphaned and abandoned children, children with special needs, people living with HIV/AIDS, youth apostolate, vocational centers, social communication, prison apostolate, and pastoral and catechetical work. We are equally open to other areas of the life of the local churchwhere our services are needed.


1. Abakaliki Diocese: Ishiagu
2. Abeokuta Diocese: Ayetoro
3. Ibadan Archdiocese: Igbo-ora
4. Ijebu-Ode Diocese: Iloti
5. Issele-Uku Diocese: Asaba, Ogwashi-uku
6. Lagos Archdiocese: Badagry, Badore, Alaba, Okokomaiko
7. Minna Diocese: Mokwa
8. Osogbo Diocese: Ejigbo, Ilesa,Inisa, Osogbo, Otan-Ayegbaju
9. Oyo Diocese: Awe, Oyo
10. Uromi Diocese: Usugbenu
11. Warri Diocese: Warri, Umutu, Ughelli


  1. Sr. Mary Josephine Obi, OSF
  2. Sr. Mary Anne Monye, OSF
  3. Sr. Mary Bernadette Ihu, OSF
  4. Sr. Maria Francesco Azuh, OSF
  5. Sr. Mary John Etah, OSF
  6. Sr. Mary Cecilia Ojetunde, OSF
  7. Sr. Mary Catherine Oke, OSF
  8. Sr. Francis Mary Adigun, OSF
  9. Sr. Maria Goretti Doghudje, OSF
  10. Sr. Mary Kizito Adeniji, OSF
  11. Sr. Mary Perpetua Adelakun, OSF
  12. Sr. Mary Elizabeth Akinlotan, OSF
  13. Sr. Mary ConsolataFamoyin, OSF
  14. Sr. Mary Clare Odebunmi, OSF
  15. Sr. Anthonia Maris Akinwale, OSF
  16. Sr. Francisca Marie Okorugbo, OSF
  17. Sr. Mary Therese Ogungbenle, OSF
  1. Sr. Mary Anastasia Obatolu, OSF
  2. Sr. Stella Maris Fadamiro, OSF
  3. Sr. Mary Joan Chukwurah, OSF
  4. Sr. Mary Agatha Ahana, OSF
  5. Sr. Augustina Mary Adeleke, OSF
  6. Sr. Mary Esther Adeyemi, OSF
  7. Sr. Mary Theresa Aluko, OSF
  8. Sr. Mary Benedicta Onatunji, OSF
  9. Sr. Victoria Mary Ogunwande, OSF
  10. Sr. Rita Maris Onah, OSF
  11. Sr. Maris Stella Adetuberu, OSF
  12. Sr. Mary Sylvia Mbagwu, OSF
  13. Sr. Anthonia Marie Jegede, OSF
  14. Sr. Mary Cordelia Osita, OSF
  15. Sr. Cecilia Mary Adache, OSF
  16. Sr. Mary Jovita Obiakor, OSF
  17. Sr. Mary Henrietta Fawole, OSF
  1. Sr. Deborah Mary Arung, OSF
  2. Sr. M. Celine Onafowope, OSF
  3. Sr. Anne Mary Mogaji, OSF
  4. Sr. Lilian Mary Ojiaku, OSF
  5. Sr. Mary Nancy Ikeji, OSF
  6. Sr. Mary Francisca Ajibola, OSF
  7. Sr. Mary Eunice Ikufisile, OSF
  8. Sr. Elizabeth Mary Oni, OSF
  9. Sr. Mary Veronica Leo-Okon, OSF
  10. Sr. Veronica Mary Ibitara, OSF
  11. Sr. Mary Evelyn Yande, OSF
  12. Sr. Augusta Mary Obi, OSF
  13. Sr. Agnes Ajala, OSF
  14. Sr. Mary Angela Adegbola, OSF
  15. Sr. Mary Martha Jeremiah, OSF
  16. Sr. Mary Teresia Kaluma, OSF
  17. Sr. Mary Gemma Aliozor, OSF
  1. Sr. LuciacordisEbuzoeme, OSF
  2. Sr. Felicity Mary Aghoghovia, OSF
  3. Sr. Augustina Marie Akinwale, OSF
  4. Sr. Elizabeth Maris Kudaisi, OSF
  5. Sr. Mary Magdalene Adedokun, OSF
  6. Sr. Catherine Mary Banjo, OSF
  7. Sr. Jane Frances Nwadike, OSF
  8. Sr. Regina Marie Akanbi, OSF
  9. Sr. Mary Juliana Akadri, OSF
  10. Sr. Mary Francesca Igwekalor, OSF
  11. Sr. Elizabeth Maris Otenaike, OSF
  12. Sr. Mary Justina Ochieze, OSF
  13. Sr. Victoria Marie Ogunyemi, OSF
  14. Sr. Mary Julian Tonje, OSF
  15. Sr. Mary Juliet Iwuagwu, OSF
  16. Sr. Mary Rose John, OSF
  17. Sr. Angela Marie Aghayere, OSF

Number Of Sisters In Temporary Vows – 8


Sr. Mary Patricia Okonmah, OSF
Sr. Mary Augustina Fabule, OSF
Sr. Rita Mary Ekeh, OSF
Sr. QueenetChinakweze, OSF