To live together in the Spirit of Pentecost, to serve the poor, the sick and the children


Vice-Provincial Superior:Sr. Monica Anyi, DHS

Daughters of the Holy Spirit Vice Province of Nigeria,

Plot 26, Ilobu Road G.R.A, Catholic Diocese of Osogbo,
P. O. Box 1891, Osogbo,
Osun State, Nigeria

MOBILE:080 3584 1875

Founded, Date/Place 8th of December 1706, Brittany in France

Founder Jean Leuduger and Marie Balavenne

Canonical Status Pontifical Right, 1960

Motto: Caritas

Charism “Consecrated to the Holy spirit under the protection of Mary, living in community for the service of the poor in justice and tenderness”

Mission Statement Consecrated to the Holy Spirit, for the mission of our Lord Jesus in serving the most deprived, paying special attention to women and children

Purpose For the service of the poor through the church

Location Of Provincial House Osogbo; Osun State

Location Of Principal House In Nigeria Modakeke Osun State

Names Of Places/Countries Where We Work: Africa: Cameroun, Burkina Faso, Nigeria.

Europe: America, France, England, Ireland.

Location Of Formation Houses Postulancy at Ogbomoso in Oyo State. Novitiateat Ilesa in Osun State.

Arrival Date In Nigeria October 10, 1964.

We receive to live together in the spirit of Pentecost and to participate in the mission of love in the world.

For us Daughters of the Holy Spirit, ‘there is no mission without adoration, without calling on the Holy Spirit to renew the face of the earth”. Our Spirituality is to reverence the presence of the Holy Spirit in ourselves, in others and in all creation. We consecrate ourselves to the least favoured of the society. Each day we draw the strength to love in this way from the love of the Trinity and we pray in a special way to the Holy Spirit. Math. 25:40 speaks to us and stimulate us to be close to all people especially the most disadvantaged. We celebrate in a special way the feasts of Pentecost and 8thDecember- the Immaculate Conception.

Information About Foundress/Founder:
The Congregation began by a devoted widow named Marie Balavenne who noticed the mystery of the people around her, a woman with a great sense of duty, she always forget herself so as to bring comfort to those in distress. She later re-married to a widower named Guillaume Despons who had seven (7) children whom she loved and brought up as her own.

Attentive to the children, Marie Balavenne also brought help and comfort to the families struck by sickness or death, with this rich experience this young woman fully prepared to fulfill with love and take her task as the stepmother she was to be. Once she brought up the Despons children, she was to dedicate herself under the guidance of Jean Leuduger; the spiritual director to a wider field of apostolic work.

Marie Balavenne, freed from family duties, left for good the home of the Despons to make community with Renee Burel, who had for a while contemplated entering the Ursuline Order. Younger and more educated than Marie Balavenne, Renee Burel supported the nascent community. On December 8, 1706, adopting a white habit in honour of the Mary Immaculate, and choosing her as their patron-saint and advocate with the Holy Spirit, they pledged to live together and to devote themselves firmly to the service of Christ and of the poor, his living images, as recommended by Jean Leuduger their spiritual director.

Living together to serve the poor and the less privileged through basic education, adult education, empowerment for women and the youth, care of the sick in their homes and in the hospitals/clinics, retreat direction, guidance and counseling.

Special Contribution To The Church In Nigeria:
With others, we work to defend human rights, the dignity of each person; children, youth, women, handicapped people, respect for creation, care for the environment. We are inserted among our people. All these involvements are done through education in all its forms, health care for the sick, counseling, retreats, rehabilitation for the disabled, pastoral work, children and youth ministry, women empowerment, collaboration with organizations aimed for greater justice and love.

Sisters In Perpetual Vows

  1. Sr. Helena Ugoji
  2. Sr. Monica Anyi
  3. Sr. Cecilia Anukem
  4. Sr. Anthonia Falope
  5. Sr. Roseline Oduze
  6. Sr. Dorathy Okuma
  7. Sr. Anthonia Ayeni
  8. Sr. Mary Ahutu
  9. Sr. Cynthia Azughara
  10. Sr. Theresa Olokede
  1. Sr. Tosin Amusan
  2. Sr. Mary Ogbue
  3. Sr. Clementina Emeghara
  4. Sr. Veronica Odoemenam
  5. Sr. Esther Amowe
  6. Sr. Elizabeth Babalola
  7. Sr. Lucy Ohanuma
  8. Sr. Emiola Fakorede
  9. Sr. Anne Okozi
  10. Sr. Grace Oladejo
  11. Sr. Immaculata Onyong
  1. Sr. Abiola Adigboluja
  2. Sr. Anthonia Amuchie
  3. Sr. Lilian Omiebenomo
  4. Sr. Anastasia Nnamezie
  5. Sr. Christiana Fasiku
  6. Sr. Chibuzor Onyeananam
  7. Sr. Clare Adelakun
  8. Sr. Ejiroghene Umiaghwa
  9. Sr. Rosemary Okere
  10. Sr. Felicia Ademola
  11. Sr. Lauretta Adegbe
  1. Sr. Rosemary Etim
  2. Sr. Esther Kolawole
  3. Sr. Hannah Okoliko
  4. Sr. Stella Oluwafemi
  5. Sr. Justina Akubo
  6. Sr. Janet Audu
  7. Sr. Maria Enemuo
  8. Sr. Esther Olusi
  9. Sr. Anthonia Ogunyomi
  10. Sr. Ogechi Onu
  11. Sr. Alice Orji

Number Of Sisters In Temporary Vows – 15