St. Clare Monastery

St. Clare Monastery

Founded, Date/Place 1212, Assisi, Italy
Foundress St. Francis and St. Clare of Assisi
Canonical Status Pontifical Right
Motto Peace and Goodness
Charism To identify with the poor
Purpose Contemplative life in humility, simplicity and joy within the enclosure
Spirituality Prayer
Ministries/Apostolate Our contemplative life of prayer is our first and fundamental apostolate, sharing our fraternal joy in humility and simplicity within the enclosure.
Arrival date in Nigeria 11th of February 1995
Location of Generalate Italy
Location of principal house in Nigeria Ikoto, along Imoru road Ijebu-Ode Ogun State.

Mother Mary Rose Aghanu, OSC
Superior General: Mother Mary Rose Aghanu, OSC

St. Clare Monastery Ikoto
P. O. Box 32
Catholic Diocese of Ijebu-Ode
Ogun State

Mobile: 08066504689, 07034732114


Our Apostolate

Information about Foundress/Founder:
St. Francis of Assisi, the extraordinary man loved and honored by the world as a faithful mirror of Christ, began life as a playboy. He was our founder. He was born in Assisi in central Italy in 1182. After his conversion he began to preach the gospel. Among his first companions was St. Clare. In 1212, Francis gave the religious habit to this aristocratic eighteen year old girl of Assisi who thereby became the foundress of the second Franciscan Order of cloistered nuns.

Special contribution to the Church in Nigeria:
Our cloistered life is a gift to the church, for within our cloister is a sacred open space to heaven. Like a power house we are set apart to supply energy for the church and her missions. By the severity of our life, we break on daily basis the alabaster vessel of our bodies filling the whole church with the aroma of holiness.

Sisters in Perpetual Vows

  1. Sr. Francesca Federici
  2. Sr. Pricilla Asogwa
  3. Sr. Mother Maryrose Aghanu
  4. Sr. Clare Rita Ezeh
  5. Sr. Clare Ruth Akpowowo
  6. Sr. Mary Clementina Mgbafuluike
  7. Sr. Mary Caro Obiora
  1. Sr. Mary Veronica Chianu
  2. Sr. Mary Julie Efodigbuwe
  3. Sr. Clare Martina Agu
  4. Sr. Mary Elizabeth Ibekwe
  5. Sr. Mary Chika Mbalaja
  6. Sr. Mary Clare Oshaba
  7. Sr. Mary Jane Frances Chulwu

Number of Sisters in Temporary Vows – 4